TL;DR
CNET has named Windscribe its best overall VPN for 2026 after six months of testing and research, replacing ExpressVPN at the top of its rankings. The outlet gave Windscribe a score of 9.2 and also highlighted Surfshark, NordVPN, Mullvad, ExpressVPN and Proton VPN for different strengths.
CNET has named Windscribe its best overall VPN for 2026, replacing ExpressVPN at the top of its list after a six-month testing and research cycle. The service received a score of 9.2 and an Editors’ Choice designation, with CNET citing its privacy, speed, streaming performance, features and price.
CNET said Windscribe performed at or near the top of the VPNs it tested across privacy, speed, streaming, usability, features and value. The outlet describes the service as independently owned, open source and audited, and says its apps include extensive customization options. Its published pricing is $9 per month or $69 per year, with no renewal price hikes, according to CNET. A customizable Build a Plan option starts at $3 a month, while the free plan is limited to 10 server locations and up to 15GB of data monthly.
The ranking also assigns providers distinct use cases rather than treating the overall score as the only measure. CNET identifies Surfshark for innovative features and unlimited simultaneous connections, NordVPN for bundles of privacy and security services, and Mullvad for users with critical privacy needs. It calls ExpressVPN its top streaming pick and the fastest service it tested this year, while naming Proton VPN its best-value option and pointing to its free plan.
The scores listed in the source are 9.2 for Windscribe, 8.6 for Surfshark, 8.4 for NordVPN, 8.2 for Mullvad, and 8.0 each for ExpressVPN and Proton VPN. CNET’s assessments include drawbacks as well as strengths: it notes Windscribe’s restrictive refund policy and relatively small server network; Surfshark’s expensive monthly plan and temporary connection logs; and NordVPN’s renewal price increases and more aggressive default data collection compared with some rivals.
CNET REVIEW · 2026 EDITION
Best VPNs of 2026: CNET’s All-New Top Picks
CNET’s six-month testing and research cycle puts Windscribe at the top of its 2026 rankings. The list also names standout services for privacy, streaming, features and value.
“Windscribe has taken the crown as CNET’s new best overall VPN service for 2026.”
— CNETSix picks, six different priorities
CNET’s recommendations pair an overall ranking with specific strengths. The right fit depends on what matters most to you.
Windscribe
Privacy, speed, streaming, customization and value. CNET also cites open-source apps and audits.
Surfshark
Feature-rich service with unlimited simultaneous connections.
NordVPN
Privacy and security services collected into bundled offerings.
Mullvad
CNET’s privacy-focused choice; streaming is a weaker point, with five connections allowed.
ExpressVPN
CNET’s streaming pick and fastest service tested in its 2026 review.
Proton VPN
Recognized for value, with a free plan among its notable options.
Scores at a glance
Scores reflect CNET’s editorial assessment. They do not guarantee the same experience for every subscriber.
| Rank | Provider | CNET score | Named strength |
|---|---|---|---|
| 01 | Windscribe | 9.2 | Best overall |
| 02 | Surfshark | 8.6 | Innovative features |
| 03 | NordVPN | 8.4 | Privacy and security bundles |
| 04 | Mullvad | 8.2 | Privacy |
| 05 | ExpressVPN | 8.0 | Streaming and speed |
| 06 | Proton VPN | 8.0 | Value |
Strengths come with trade-offs
CNET’s review points out drawbacks alongside the headline recommendations.
Windscribe
Smaller server network and restrictive refund policy. CNET lists $9 monthly or $69 yearly, with no renewal price hike.
Surfshark
Monthly plan can be expensive; CNET notes temporary connection logs.
NordVPN
Renewal prices increase, and default data collection is described as more aggressive than some rivals.
ExpressVPN & Mullvad
ExpressVPN costs more and has app and feature caveats. Mullvad can struggle with streaming and allows five connections.
Windscribe pricing, as listed
Plan details can change. Confirm current terms with the provider before subscribing.
CNET says the annual plan has no renewal price hike. The free plan is limited by both server locations and monthly data. Compare supported devices, renewal terms, refund rules and data limits before you buy.
How to read this ranking
CNET’s published recommendations offer a useful starting point; individual results depend on your needs and setup.
Pick a priority
Privacy, streaming, price, features or bundled services.
Compare terms
Check today’s price, renewal rate, devices and refund policy.
Check the details
Review data limits, server coverage and current features.
Set expectations
Speed and access vary by location, network, device and server.
What the source does not show
The supplied material summarizes CNET’s conclusions but leaves important details unavailable for independent reproduction.
How the New Rankings Affect VPN Choices
The reshuffle gives readers a fresh comparison point in a market where VPN services compete on more than connection speed. CNET’s category picks underscore that the right choice depends on a user’s priorities: privacy, streaming, price, device limits or bundled services. Windscribe’s top position reflects CNET’s combined assessment across several categories, but it does not make the provider the best fit for every person.
Price and trade-offs matter alongside the headline ranking. CNET says Windscribe’s annual plan costs $69 and does not have a renewal price hike, but its smaller server network and refund restrictions may affect some buyers. Mullvad, meanwhile, is the outlet’s privacy-focused choice, though CNET says it struggles with streaming and permits five simultaneous connections. Readers comparing plans should check current terms and features directly with providers, since prices and product details can change.
The results are also a review outlet’s testing conclusions, not a guarantee that every user will see the same speed, access or privacy experience. Performance can vary with location, internet provider, device and server choice. CNET says its experts tested the services, but the provided material does not give the full testing protocol or individual measurement results.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
ExpressVPN Loses the Top Ranking
ExpressVPN had been CNET’s longstanding leader, according to the source material, but its overall score is now 8.0. CNET still recommends it for streaming and calls it the fastest VPN it tested in 2026. It also lists strengths including privacy and security features, transparency and a privacy-friendly British Virgin Islands jurisdiction. The outlet flags its price, a new app it describes as somewhat buggy, limited DNS-based content blocking on its Basic tier and the absence of multihop connections.
CNET says the revised list followed six months of testing and research and drew on its experts’ combined experience. The available source does not provide dates for the testing period, the number of services evaluated, or a detailed explanation of how scores were weighted. The rankings should be read as CNET’s editorial judgments based on its stated review process, rather than as a complete account of every VPN on the market.
“Windscribe has taken the crown as CNET’s new best overall VPN service for 2026.”
— CNET
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Testing Details Not in the Source
The source material does not include CNET’s full testing methodology, the individual speed results, the locations and devices used, or the weighting behind each score. It also does not state exactly when the six-month evaluation began or ended. Those missing details limit how independently readers can reproduce or compare the rankings from the information provided.
VPN features, prices and policies can change, and the source does not specify a date for each listed plan or confirm whether every offer remains available. CNET’s descriptions of privacy, streaming performance and value are its review findings; they should not be read as guarantees of results for every subscriber. The material also does not explain the scope or findings of the audits it cites for Windscribe.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Check Plans Before Subscribing
CNET’s 2026 list gives readers a set of recommendations organized by use case, but prospective subscribers should compare current prices, renewal terms, supported devices, data limits and refund rules before buying. Those checks are especially relevant for users choosing between Windscribe’s lower-cost plans, Mullvad’s privacy focus, ExpressVPN’s streaming recommendation and Proton VPN’s free option.
The source provides no announced date for a further ranking update. The next changes will depend on providers’ product updates and any new testing CNET publishes. Until then, the scores and recommendations represent CNET’s stated 2026 review results, not a promise that products or rankings will remain unchanged.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
Which VPN did CNET rank first overall for 2026?
CNET named Windscribe its best overall VPN for 2026, giving it a 9.2 score and Editors’ Choice designation after six months of testing and research.
Did ExpressVPN lose all of its recommendations?
No. CNET no longer ranks ExpressVPN first overall, but still recommends it for streaming and describes it as the fastest service it tested this year. Its listed overall score is 8.0.
Which VPNs did CNET recommend for specific needs?
CNET highlights Surfshark for innovative features, NordVPN for service bundles, Mullvad for privacy, ExpressVPN for streaming and speed, and Proton VPN for value. These are CNET’s editorial recommendations based on its testing.
What does CNET say Windscribe costs?
The source lists Windscribe at $9 per month or $69 per year, with a Build a Plan option starting at $3 per month. It also describes a free plan limited to 10 server locations and up to 15GB of monthly data. Prices and plan terms may change.
What information about the testing is still missing?
The available source does not provide the full testing protocol, the services evaluated, detailed speed measurements, score weighting or exact testing dates. It says the process lasted six months and involved research in 2026.
Source: CNET