A rackmount backup appliance can keep networking, storage, and server equipment running through brief outages and provide time for a safe shutdown. My best overall pick is the APC Smart-UPS 1500VA/900W SMC1500-2UC for buyers who need more capacity than the compact 500VA models provide. The Eaton 5P 1550VA 1U stands out for higher capacity in a slim rack profile, while the APC Smart-UPS 500VA Lithium-Ion 1U suits shallow racks and buyers prioritizing lithium-ion battery technology. The main tradeoffs are capacity versus rack space, battery type and replacement needs, and how much monitoring your setup requires. Read on for the full breakdown and help matching a UPS to your equipment and rack.
Get privacy and security gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- 1500VA-class models such as the APC SMC1500-2UC and CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U offer more headroom for multiple devices than the 500VA options, but need a larger power and rack-space budget.
- 1U lithium-ion models from APC and Eaton Tripp Lite favor shallow or space-constrained racks; check capacity and outlet count before choosing them for a growing load.
- Pure sine-wave output on the CyberPower PFC models is a useful match for equipment with active PFC power supplies, while smaller 500VA units call for careful load prioritization.
- Monitoring features vary by model: SmartConnect, LCD displays, and cloud-connected options can aid remote oversight, but they do not replace a tested shutdown plan.
- The Eaton 5P lineup spans several rack needs, from a 1550VA 1U unit to compact and lower-capacity models, so buyers should compare exact form factor and capacity rather than relying on the family name.
| APC Smart-UPS 500VA Lithium-Ion 1U Short-Depth Rackmount UPS | ![]() | Best for Long Service Life in a Compact Rack | Capacity: 500VA / 400W | Topology: Line interactive | Output waveform: Pure sine wave | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| APC Smart-UPS 1500VA/900W 2U Rackmount UPS, SMC1500-2UC | ![]() | Best for Remote Monitoring | Capacity: 1500VA / 900W | Topology: Line interactive | Output waveform: Pure sine wave | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U 1500VA/1000W PFC Sine Wave UPS Battery Backup | ![]() | Best for Compact High-Capacity Racks | Capacity: 1500VA / 1000W | Output waveform: Sine wave | Outlets: 8 × NEMA 5-15R | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton 5P 1550VA/1100W 1U Rackmount UPS | ![]() | Best for 230V Equipment | Capacity: 1550VA / 1100W | Form factor: 1U rackmount or wall-mount | Output voltage: 230V nominal; selectable 208–240V | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CyberPower CP500PFCRM1U 500VA/300W PFC Sinewave Rackmount UPS | ![]() | Best Value for Small Racks | Capacity: 500VA / 300W | Output waveform: Sine wave | Outlets: 6 × NEMA 5-15R: 4 battery backup and surge protected, 2 surge protected | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CyberPower OR500LCDRM1U 500VA/300W Rackmount UPS with LCD | ![]() | Best Basic 1U Backup | Capacity: 500VA / 300W | Form factor: 1U rackmount | Outlets: 6 total: 4 battery backup and surge protected, 2 surge protected | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| APC Smart-UPS C 1500VA Rack-Mount UPS with SmartConnect | ![]() | Best for Remote Monitoring | Model: SMC1500-2UC | Capacity: 1500VA; 900W output | Form factor: 2 RU rack mount | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| APC Smart-UPS Lithium-Ion 1U Rackmount UPS, 120V, 500VA/400W, Short Depth (SCL500RM1UC) | ![]() | Best Compact Sine Wave Pick | Model: SCL500RM1UC | Capacity: 500VA / 400W | Form factor: 1U short-depth rackmount | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CyberPower OR500LCDRM1U Smart App LCD Rackmount UPS | ![]() | Best for Local Status Checks | Capacity: 500VA / 300W | Form factor: Rackmount | Output waveform: Simulated sine wave | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton Tripp Lite SMART1500LCD 1500VA/900W Rack Mount UPS | ![]() | Best for Outlet Capacity and Flexible Placement | Capacity: 1500VA / 900W | Outlets: 8 × NEMA 5-15R | Form factor: 2U rack mount or tower | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton Tripp Lite BC500RT1ULNC 500VA 1U Rackmount Lithium Cloud UPS | ![]() | Best for Cloud Monitoring | Model: BC500RT1ULNC | Capacity: 500VA / 400W | Form factor: 1U rackmount; tower use also supported | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton 5P 1500VA Compact Rackmount UPS | ![]() | Best for a Larger Outlet Count | Load capacity: 1440VA | Output power: 1100W | Input voltage: 120V AC | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton 5P750R Rack-Mount UPS | ![]() | Best for Power Quality Visibility | Model: 5P750R | Form factor: Rack-mount | Voltage: 120V | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton Tripp Lite SmartPro 500VA 1U Rack/Tower UPS, 300W AVR | ![]() | Best for Shallow Racks | Capacity: 500VA | Output power: 300W | Design: 1U rack/tower | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| rackmount backup appliance | Outlets | Capacity | Form factor |
|---|---|---|---|
| APC Smart-UPS 500VA Lithium-Io | 4 × NEMA 5-15R | 500VA / 400W | 1U rackmount; rack/tower convertible |
| APC Smart-UPS 1500VA/900W 2U R | 6 × NEMA 5-15R | 1500VA / 900W | 2U rackmount |
| CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U 1500V | 8 × NEMA 5-15R | 1500VA / 1000W | — |
| Eaton 5P 1550VA/1100W 1U Rackm | 6 × IEC 60320 C13 | 1550VA / 1100W | 1U rackmount or wall-mount |
| CyberPower CP500PFCRM1U 500VA/ | 6 × NEMA 5-15R: 4 battery backup and surge protected, 2 surge protected | 500VA / 300W | — |
| CyberPower OR500LCDRM1U 500VA/ | 6 total: 4 battery backup and surge protected, 2 surge protected | 500VA / 300W | 1U rackmount |
| APC Smart-UPS C 1500VA Rack-Mo | 6 × NEMA 5-15R battery backup outlets | 1500VA; 900W output | 2 RU rack mount |
| APC Smart-UPS Lithium-Ion 1U R | 4 × NEMA 5-15R | 500VA / 400W | 1U short-depth rackmount |
| CyberPower OR500LCDRM1U Smart | 6 NEMA 5-15R: 4 battery backup and surge protected, 2 surge protected | 500VA / 300W | Rackmount |
| Eaton Tripp Lite SMART1500LCD | 8 × NEMA 5-15R | 1500VA / 900W | 2U rack mount or tower |
| Eaton Tripp Lite BC500RT1ULNC | 6 × 5-15R, battery backup and surge protection | 500VA / 400W | 1U rackmount; tower use also supported |
| Eaton 5P 1500VA Compact Rackmo | — | — | — |
| Eaton 5P750R Rack-Mount UPS | 5 × NEMA 5-15 | — | Rack-mount |
| Eaton Tripp Lite SmartPro 500V | 6 × NEMA 5-15R; 6 UPS-backed, 1 surge-only as listed | 500VA | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
APC Smart-UPS 500VA Lithium-Ion 1U Short-Depth Rackmount UPS
The APC Smart-UPS 500VA Lithium-Ion suits a small network rack where shallow depth and fewer battery replacements matter more than outlet count or high load capacity. Its 1U short-depth chassis leaves room for cabling, while the lithium-ion battery and five-year warranty make it a distinct alternative to the lead-acid Eaton 5P 1550VA/1100W. That Eaton can support a much larger load, but takes a different approach to battery maintenance and uses 230V output. Compared with the CyberPower CP500PFCRM1U, this APC offers 100W more capacity and lithium-ion chemistry, while CyberPower supplies more outlets and an LCD. The tradeoff is clear: four outlets and 400W limit how much equipment it can protect, and the listed input and output are 120V, so it is not a fit for every power environment.
Pros:- Lithium-ion battery can reduce battery replacement needs compared with sealed lead-acid designs.
- Short-depth 1U format preserves space for rack cabling.
- Pure sine wave output and surge protection suit sensitive network equipment.
- Five-year warranty and USB or serial graceful-shutdown support.
Cons:- Four outlets restrict the number of connected devices.
- 400W capacity is modest for server-heavy racks.
- 120V input and output limit use in other power environments.
Best for: Small 120V network racks with a few critical devices and limited depth, especially buyers who want lithium-ion battery service life.
Not ideal for: Teams protecting several devices or a high-load server, since capacity is 400W and there are only four outlets.
- Capacity:500VA / 400W
- Topology:Line interactive
- Output waveform:Pure sine wave
- Input / output voltage:120V AC / 120V AC
- Outlets:4 × NEMA 5-15R
- Battery:Lithium-ion; 3-hour charge time
- Form factor:1U rackmount; rack/tower convertible
- Dimensions / weight:9.13 × 17.01 × 1.75 inches; 12.6 pounds
- Warranty:5 years
Our verdict“Choose this APC for a compact 120V rack with a light load where lithium-ion battery life matters more than outlet count.”
APC Smart-UPS 1500VA/900W 2U Rackmount UPS, SMC1500-2UC
The APC SMC1500-2UC earns its place for small IT teams that want remote status checks alongside 900W of sine wave backup. SmartConnect monitoring can send notifications without requiring someone to be at the rack, and automatic voltage regulation helps handle common high or low voltage fluctuations without drawing on the battery. Compared with the CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U, APC offers remote monitoring built into the listed feature set, while CyberPower has 100W more capacity, two more outlets, and a front color LCD. The APC’s six outlets and 2U height make it a middle ground between compact 1U units and larger setups. Its monitoring is offered as a six-month trial for eligible units, and the two-year unit warranty excludes the battery, so buyers should account for those limits when planning ongoing support.
Pros:- Pure sine wave output supports sensitive electronics.
- AVR corrects voltage fluctuations without switching to battery.
- SmartConnect provides remote monitoring and notifications.
- Rack-mount rails are included.
Cons:- SmartConnect is a six-month free trial for eligible units.
- Two-year unit warranty excludes the battery.
- 2U rack space may be excessive for compact installations.
Best for: Small IT teams with 120V rack equipment that need moderate backup capacity and remote power status notifications.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a 1U or short-depth chassis, more than six outlets, or a battery-inclusive unit warranty.
- Capacity:1500VA / 900W
- Topology:Line interactive
- Output waveform:Pure sine wave
- Input connector:NEMA 5-15P
- Outlets:6 × NEMA 5-15R
- Form factor:2U rackmount
- Voltage regulation:Automatic Voltage Regulation (AVR)
- Monitoring:APC SmartConnect remote monitoring
- Warranty:2 years for unit (excluding battery) and battery; additional 1-year battery warranty with SmartConnect connection and registration
Our verdict“Pick the APC SMC1500-2UC when remote monitoring and AVR matter more than the CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U’s extra capacity and outlets.”
CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U 1500VA/1000W PFC Sine Wave UPS Battery Backup
With 1000W of capacity, eight outlets, and a 10.5-inch depth, the CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U is the strongest fit here for a compact rack carrying several network, security, or AV devices. Its color LCD gives a local view of UPS status, while AVR can address minor voltage changes without using battery power. Against the APC SMC1500-2UC, CyberPower provides 100W more capacity, two additional outlets, and a display; APC’s differentiator is SmartConnect remote monitoring. The CyberPower’s sine wave output is designed to support active PFC and conventional power supplies, making it more versatile for mixed equipment than a small 500VA unit such as the APC SCL500RM1U. The tradeoff is that this is a 2U rackmount design, and the short depth does not make it suitable for every installation.
Pros:- 1000W capacity handles a heavier device load than the 500VA models.
- Eight outlets accommodate more equipment than the APC SMC1500-2UC.
- 10.5-inch depth suits compact rack installations.
- Color LCD and AVR provide local status and voltage correction.
Cons:- 2U format uses more rack height than the 1U alternatives.
- Rackmount design may not suit installations without rack space.
- The listed feature set emphasizes local LCD status rather than remote monitoring.
Best for: Security, AV, and network teams fitting multiple devices into a shallow rack and needing up to 1000W of backup capacity.
Not ideal for: Buyers with a strict 1U limit or those who need remote monitoring included rather than an on-unit display.
- Capacity:1500VA / 1000W
- Output waveform:Sine wave
- Outlets:8 × NEMA 5-15R
- Input plug:NEMA 5-15P, right angle with 45-degree offset
- Power cord:6 feet
- Depth:10.5 inches
- Display / voltage regulation:Multifunction color LCD; automatic voltage regulation
- Warranty:3 years, including the battery
- Safety certification:UL listed
Our verdict“Choose the CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U for a shallow rack with several devices and a heavier load than the APC SMC1500-2UC can support.”
Eaton 5P 1550VA/1100W 1U Rackmount UPS
The Eaton 5P 1550VA/1100W stands out for a buyer whose rack runs on 230V and who needs substantial backup power in just 1U. Its pure sine wave output and AVR suit sensitive servers and network equipment, while user-replaceable sealed lead-acid batteries give facilities staff a direct maintenance path. That separates it from the APC SCL500RM1U, which is shallower and uses lithium-ion but supplies only 400W; Eaton is built for a much heavier load and a different voltage environment. Compared with the CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U, Eaton occupies less rack height and supports selectable 208–240V output, though CyberPower has eight NEMA outlets and a color display. Eaton’s six grouped IEC outlets and battery replacement needs are practical tradeoffs. The installation kit and power cord are sold separately.
Pros:- 1550VA / 1100W capacity in a 1U form factor.
- Pure sine wave output and AVR support sensitive equipment through power fluctuations.
- User-replaceable batteries simplify planned battery maintenance.
- Selectable 208–240V output fits compatible power environments.
Cons:- Installation kit and power cord are sold separately.
- Sealed lead-acid batteries require eventual replacement.
- Six IEC C13 outlets may require adapters for equipment with other plugs.
Best for: IT facilities with 208–240V rack equipment that need up to 1100W in a 1U chassis and can maintain replaceable lead-acid batteries.
Not ideal for: 120V-only racks or buyers who want included installation hardware, NEMA outlets, or lithium-ion battery chemistry.
- Capacity:1550VA / 1100W
- Form factor:1U rackmount or wall-mount
- Output voltage:230V nominal; selectable 208–240V
- Output waveform:Pure sine wave
- Voltage regulation:Automatic voltage regulation (AVR)
- Battery:User-replaceable sealed lead-acid
- Outlets:6 × IEC 60320 C13
- Frequency:50/60 Hz
- Input connector:C14
Our verdict“Choose the Eaton 5P when your rack uses 208–240V and needs high capacity in 1U, provided you can source its installation kit and cord.”
CyberPower CP500PFCRM1U 500VA/300W PFC Sinewave Rackmount UPS
The CyberPower CP500PFCRM1U is a practical pick for a small rack that needs a short 1U UPS with six outlets but only a modest amount of backup power. Four outlets provide battery backup, with two more reserved for surge protection; that split lets a buyer connect less critical accessories without using scarce backed-up sockets. Against the APC Smart-UPS SCL500RM1U, CyberPower offers more total outlets and a 10-foot power cord, while APC supplies 100W more capacity and a lithium-ion battery. The CyberPower adds AVR, EMI/RFI filtration, and a color LCD, giving local visibility into status. At 300W maximum, it is best for network or security gear rather than a loaded server rack. Remote management also requires an optional card, so it is less ready for off-site oversight than the APC SmartConnect models.
Pros:- 9.04-inch depth fits space-constrained racks.
- Six outlets include four battery-backed and two surge-only connections.
- AVR and EMI/RFI filtration address power fluctuations and electrical noise.
- Three-year warranty includes the batteries.
Cons:- 300W maximum capacity is too limited for heavier server loads.
- Only four outlets provide battery backup.
- Remote management requires an optional card.
Best for: Small-rack owners protecting a few network, security, or AV devices who value short depth, local status, and extra surge-only outlets.
Not ideal for: Buyers with loads near or above 300W, or those who require remote management without buying an optional card.
- Capacity:500VA / 300W
- Output waveform:Sine wave
- Outlets:6 × NEMA 5-15R: 4 battery backup and surge protected, 2 surge protected
- Input:15A, NEMA 5-15P
- Input voltage:120V AC
- Power cord / depth:10 feet / 9.04 inches
- Features:AVR, multifunction color LCD, EMI/RFI filtration
- Remote management:Optional RMCARD205 or Cloud Monitoring Card
- Warranty:3 years, including batteries
Our verdict“Pick the CP500PFCRM1U for a short-depth rack with a light load and more outlet flexibility than the APC SCL500RM1U provides.”
CyberPower OR500LCDRM1U 500VA/300W Rackmount UPS with LCD
The OR500LCDRM1U suits a small rack where the priority is keeping a modest network or server load online through brief outages. Its 1U chassis saves rack space, while automatic voltage regulation handles minor input swings without draining the battery. The LCD makes runtime and power conditions easier to check at the rack than on the APC Smart-UPS Lithium-Ion 1U, which emphasizes remote monitoring in a compact format. This CyberPower model has six outlets, though only four provide battery backup, and its 300W limit rules out heavier loads. The simulated sine wave also narrows compatibility: it is not intended for active PFC equipment. Remote management requires an optional card, so I’d choose it for straightforward local monitoring rather than networked oversight.
Pros:- 1U rackmount form factor conserves rack space
- Automatic voltage regulation corrects minor fluctuations without using battery power
- LCD shows runtime, battery status, and power conditions
- Three-year warranty includes the batteries
Cons:- Simulated sine wave output is unsuitable for some active PFC equipment
- Only four of six outlets provide battery backup
- Remote management requires an optional card
Best for: Small office or network rack owners protecting a few compatible devices who want a 1U unit with a readable local status panel.
Not ideal for: IT teams backing up active PFC servers or needing remote monitoring without buying an optional management card.
- Capacity:500VA / 300W
- Form factor:1U rackmount
- Outlets:6 total: 4 battery backup and surge protected, 2 surge protected
- Input:120V, NEMA 5-15P
- Power cord:10 feet
- Automatic voltage regulation:Yes
- Battery charge time:8 hours
- Warranty:3 years, including batteries
Our verdict“Choose it for a small, compatible rack load that needs basic 1U battery backup and clear local status information.”
APC Smart-UPS C 1500VA Rack-Mount UPS with SmartConnect
For a rack owner who needs to check on backup status away from the equipment, the APC Smart-UPS C 1500VA gives SmartConnect a central role. Remote monitoring and notifications, paired with PowerChute shutdown software, can help administrators track power events and shut systems down unattended. Its sine wave output and 900W capacity also make it a stronger fit for supported server loads than the 500VA CyberPower OR500LCDRM1U. The tradeoff is space: this unit takes 2U, and its six battery-backed outlets offer less connection flexibility than the eight on the Eaton Tripp Lite SMART1500LCD. Runtime depends on load, and recharging can take up to three hours. I’d favor it when remote oversight matters more than minimizing rack space or maximizing outlet count.
Pros:- SmartConnect supports remote monitoring and notifications
- PowerChute software supports unattended system shutdowns
- Sine wave output and 900W capacity suit a broader range of supported equipment
- Rack rails and connection cables are included
Cons:- Requires 2U of rack space
- Six battery-backed outlets are fewer than the Eaton Tripp Lite SMART1500LCD provides
- Recharge time can reach three hours, and runtime varies with load
Best for: Small IT teams managing compatible servers or network equipment that need remote power alerts and unattended shutdown support.
Not ideal for: Rack owners with only 1U available or systems that need more than six battery-backed outlets.
- Model:SMC1500-2UC
- Capacity:1500VA; 900W output
- Form factor:2 RU rack mount
- Outlets:6 × NEMA 5-15R battery backup outlets
- Input:120V, NEMA 5-15P
- Topology and waveform:Line interactive; sine wave
- Recharge time:Up to 3 hours
- Monitoring and shutdown:SmartConnect remote monitoring; PowerChute software
Our verdict“Pick this APC when remote alerts and managed shutdowns matter more than saving rack space or gaining extra outlets.”
APC Smart-UPS Lithium-Ion 1U Rackmount UPS, 120V, 500VA/400W, Short Depth (SCL500RM1UC)
This APC is a focused fit for racks where short depth and 1U height matter as much as clean battery output. Its sine wave waveform and 400W rating offer a more suitable match for supported equipment than the simulated sine wave CyberPower OR500LCDRM1U, while the LED indicators and SmartConnect add local and remote status options. Four outlets keep the connection count modest, and the supplied rails simplify rack installation. Compared with the APC Smart-UPS C 1500VA, this model gives up capacity and battery-backed outlets to fit a smaller space. SmartConnect’s free trial is limited for units purchased or registered after August 1, 2023, so ongoing service terms matter to buyers who want cloud monitoring. I’d choose it for a compact rack with a modest, sine-wave-sensitive load.
Pros:- Short-depth 1U design fits space-constrained racks
- Sine wave battery output
- SmartConnect offers remote monitoring, notifications, and firmware updates
- Rack mounting support rails are included
Cons:- Four outlets limit the number of connected devices
- 500VA capacity is below the APC Smart-UPS C 1500VA
- SmartConnect is a six-month free trial for units purchased or registered after August 1, 2023
Best for: Owners of shallow 1U racks protecting a modest load that benefits from sine wave battery output and remote status monitoring.
Not ideal for: Teams needing many battery-backed connections, higher output capacity, or SmartConnect service without ongoing terms.
- Model:SCL500RM1UC
- Capacity:500VA / 400W
- Form factor:1U short-depth rackmount
- Waveform:Sine wave
- Input:120V, NEMA 5-15P
- Outlets:4 × NEMA 5-15R
- Power cord:6 feet
- Monitoring:SmartConnect remote monitoring
Our verdict“Choose this model when a shallow 1U footprint and sine wave output matter more than capacity or outlet count.”
CyberPower OR500LCDRM1U Smart App LCD Rackmount UPS
The OR500LCDRM1U Smart App is aimed at buyers who want to check backup and power conditions at the rack without paying for a built-in network monitoring feature. Its LCD reports runtime, battery status, and power conditions, and automatic voltage regulation can address minor fluctuations without switching to battery. The six-outlet layout gives it more total connections than the four-outlet APC Smart-UPS Lithium-Ion 1U, but the same split applies here: only four outlets have battery backup. At 500VA/300W, it is a light-duty choice, and the simulated sine wave limits which equipment it suits. Remote management needs the optional RMCARD205. I’d place it ahead of the earlier OR500 listing for buyers using the Smart App model designation, but its core capacity and output tradeoffs remain similar.
Pros:- LCD displays runtime, battery status, and power conditions
- Automatic voltage regulation helps address minor power fluctuations
- Six outlets provide four battery-backed connections plus two surge-only connections
- Three-year warranty includes batteries
Cons:- Simulated sine wave output may not suit active PFC equipment
- Remote management requires the optional RMCARD205
- 300W output limits the size of the protected load
Best for: Small network rack owners who prefer an LCD for local checks and need backup for a few compatible devices.
Not ideal for: Administrators who need built-in remote management or need sine wave output for their equipment.
- Capacity:500VA / 300W
- Form factor:Rackmount
- Output waveform:Simulated sine wave
- Outlets:6 NEMA 5-15R: 4 battery backup and surge protected, 2 surge protected
- Input and output voltage:120V AC
- Input plug and cord:NEMA 5-15P; 10 feet
- Battery average life:3 years
- Remote management:Requires optional RMCARD205
Our verdict“This is a practical choice for a small compatible rack load when local LCD monitoring is enough.”
Eaton Tripp Lite SMART1500LCD 1500VA/900W Rack Mount UPS
The SMART1500LCD makes sense when a rack needs more battery-backed connections and the UPS may later serve as a tower. It provides eight outlets, two more than the APC Smart-UPS C 1500VA, and its 2U/tower design gives placement options beyond rack use. Automatic voltage regulation covers a wide input range, while the rotatable LCD and user-replaceable batteries make routine status checks and maintenance more accessible. The compromise is output quality in battery mode: it switches to modified sine wave, unlike the APC’s sine wave output, which can matter for sensitive or particular power supplies. Its 2U footprint also takes more rack room than either 1U CyberPower. I’d rank it for buyers who value outlet count and serviceability over a pure sine wave.
Pros:- Eight outlets provide more connection capacity than the APC Smart-UPS C 1500VA
- Can be installed in a 2U rack or used as a tower
- Automatic voltage regulation corrects input fluctuations across a 75V–147V range
- Rotatable LCD and user-replaceable internal batteries support maintenance
Cons:- Modified sine wave output in battery mode may not suit sensitive equipment
- 2U form factor uses more rack space than 1U alternatives
- Six-foot power cord may restrict placement
Best for: Small businesses with several rack devices that want eight outlets, user-replaceable batteries, and the option to use the UPS as a tower.
Not ideal for: Teams with equipment that requires sine wave battery output or racks where 2U is unavailable.
- Capacity:1500VA / 900W
- Outlets:8 × NEMA 5-15R
- Form factor:2U rack mount or tower
- Input:NEMA 5-15P
- Power cord:6 feet
- Automatic voltage regulation range:75V–147V to 120V
- Battery mode waveform:Modified sine wave (PWM)
- Batteries and warranty:User-replaceable internal batteries; 3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the SMART1500LCD when you need eight outlets and flexible placement and your devices can use modified sine wave battery output.”
Eaton Tripp Lite BC500RT1ULNC 500VA 1U Rackmount Lithium Cloud UPS
The BC500RT1ULNC suits rack owners who want to check backup status and control outlet groups remotely. Its cloud monitoring, app and browser access, and NFC setup give it a more connected approach than the Eaton Tripp Lite SmartPro 500VA 1U, whose listed management uses USB, RS232, and PowerAlert software. Two outlets stay active while the other four are divided into switchable banks, which helps isolate or restart selected equipment. The lithium-ion battery is rated for five years or more, but the compact unit has limited reserve: Eaton lists three minutes at its full 400W load and 14 minutes at 200W. I’d choose it for monitored network or edge gear that needs controlled shutdown, not for systems that need extended runtime.
Pros:- Cloud, app, and browser monitoring with alerts and control
- Lithium-ion battery service life rated at five years or more
- Six battery-backed, surge-protected outlets with two switchable banks
- Compact 1U rack or tower format
Cons:- Listed runtime is three minutes at the full 400W load
- Wall mounting requires an optional bracket
Best for: Small IT teams managing a remote network rack who want cloud alerts and control of connected outlet groups.
Not ideal for: Buyers backing up equipment near the 400W limit that needs more than a few minutes to ride out an outage.
- Model:BC500RT1ULNC
- Capacity:500VA / 400W
- Form factor:1U rackmount; tower use also supported
- Battery:Lithium-ion; service life rated at five years or more
- Outlets:6 × 5-15R, battery backup and surge protection
- Runtime:14 minutes at 200W; 3 minutes at 400W
- Monitoring:Cloud, mobile app, web browser, and NFC configuration
- Surge protection:158 joules
- Warranty:5-year limited manufacturer warranty
Our verdict“Choose this 1U UPS for remotely managed equipment that benefits from outlet-bank control and can shut down quickly during an outage.”
Eaton 5P 1500VA Compact Rackmount UPS
The Eaton 5P is a practical fit when a rack has several devices to connect and a standard 120V supply. Its ten NEMA 5-15R receptacles outnumber the six on the BC500RT1ULNC and SmartPro 500VA, while its 1100W output gives it a different capacity class from those compact 500VA models. At 2U and 41 pounds, though, it asks for more rack space and sturdy support; it is also a less convenient choice for shallow or crowded cabinets. The included rail kit and USB and RS-232 cables make rack installation and wired setup more straightforward. I’d shortlist it for a mid-sized equipment rack where outlet count and output capacity matter more than saving a rack unit. The supplied data does not specify runtime, so buyers should check whether its backup duration fits their load.
Pros:- Ten NEMA 5-15R receptacles
- 1100W output and 1440VA load capacity
- Rail kit, USB cable, and RS-232 cable included
- Supports rack or wall mounting
Cons:- Uses 2U of rack space
- Weighs 41 pounds, which makes installation more demanding
- Runtime is not specified in the supplied product data
Best for: IT administrators with several 120V rack devices who have two rack units available and need more than a 500VA UPS can provide.
Not ideal for: Owners of shallow, space-constrained racks or buyers who need a stated runtime for sizing their outage plan.
- Load capacity:1440VA
- Output power:1100W
- Input voltage:120V AC
- Receptacles:10 × NEMA 5-15R
- Rack height:2U
- Dimensions:3.4 × 17.3 × 16 inches
- Weight:41 pounds
- Mounting:Rack or wall mountable
- Included accessories:Quick start guide, USB cable, RS-232 serial cable, and multi-purpose rail kit
Our verdict“Pick the Eaton 5P when your rack needs ten outlets and higher output capacity, and you can accommodate its weight and 2U footprint.”
Eaton 5P750R Rack-Mount UPS
The 5P750R puts power quality controls and local visibility ahead of remote management: its LCD, energy metering, and adjustable tolerance and sensitivity help an operator inspect the UPS and tune how it responds to incoming power. Pure sinewave output is a useful fit for equipment that expects a clean AC waveform. Compared with the Eaton 5P 1500VA Compact Rackmount UPS, this model has a smaller stated maximum power figure and five outlets, making it better suited to a modest rack load than a larger group of devices. Its listed one-minute runtime is a serious limitation for anything that needs time to ride through an outage, and the supplied data gives no load point for that figure. I’d reserve it for monitoring and brief ride-through needs, with a separate shutdown plan.
Pros:- Pure sinewave output
- LCD shows UPS status and measurements
- Energy metering supports visibility into connected equipment
- Adjustable tolerance and sensitivity allow configuration of power response
Cons:- Listed runtime is only one minute, with no load point provided
- Five outlets limit how many devices can connect directly
- Lead-acid battery type
Best for: Rack operators who want an LCD and energy metering to monitor a modest set of devices and can shut them down promptly.
Not ideal for: Teams that need extended runtime, a large outlet count, or a clearly specified runtime at their expected load.
- Model:5P750R
- Form factor:Rack-mount
- Voltage:120V
- Maximum power:600W
- Output wattage:750W
- Outlets:5 × NEMA 5-15
- Runtime:1 minute
- Battery:Lead acid
- Weight:31.1 pounds
Our verdict“Choose the 5P750R for local power monitoring and configurable response on a small rack load, provided its brief stated runtime fits your shutdown plan.”
Eaton Tripp Lite SmartPro 500VA 1U Rack/Tower UPS, 300W AVR
For a shallow cabinet, the SmartPro’s 11.8-inch installed depth and 1U rack or tower design can matter more than a large capacity rating. Its automatic voltage regulation corrects brownouts without switching to battery, helping preserve battery reserve for actual outages. At 300W, it offers less output than the BC500RT1ULNC’s 400W, but it includes USB and RS232 connections, EPO, and PowerAlert software for wired monitoring and power management. That makes it a grounded pick for a small network closet; the newer BC500RT1ULNC adds cloud access and lithium-ion battery life, while this SmartPro’s SNMP/Web card is optional. Its six outlets serve a compact setup, but the modest wattage and optional network card limit its appeal for larger or fully remote installations.
Pros:- 11.8-inch installed depth fits shallow racks
- 1U rack or tower format
- AVR corrects brownouts without using battery power
- USB, RS232, EPO, and PowerAlert software included
Cons:- Output is limited to 300W
- SNMP/Web network management card is optional
- One of the six listed outlets is surge-only rather than UPS-backed
Best for: Small offices with shallow racks that need a compact UPS for network gear and can manage it through wired connections.
Not ideal for: Buyers needing more than 300W, built-in cloud management, or network-card monitoring without an add-on.
- Capacity:500VA
- Output power:300W
- Design:1U rack/tower
- Installed depth:11.8 inches
- Outlets:6 × NEMA 5-15R; 6 UPS-backed, 1 surge-only as listed
- Connectivity:USB, RS232, and EPO
- Voltage regulation:Automatic Voltage Regulation (AVR)
- Software:PowerAlert
- Optional network management:SNMP/Web card
Our verdict“Pick the SmartPro for a shallow rack and modest load when AVR and wired management matter more than cloud access or higher output.”

How We Picked
I compared these rackmount UPS options around the job implied by this category: protecting rack equipment while fitting the available space and providing enough runtime or shutdown time for the actual load. Capacity, watt rating, rack height and depth, outlet provision, output characteristics, battery technology, and monitoring features all shaped the assessment. I also weighed practical ownership factors, including whether a buyer may need to replace batteries, maintain a remote site, or expand the protected load.
The ordering favors models that balance useful capacity, rack practicality, and broadly useful management features. The APC SMC1500-2UC leads as a balanced 2U choice; Eaton’s 5P 1550VA 1U earns a strong place for buyers who need higher capacity in less vertical rack space. Smaller units rank well for compact loads or specialized constraints, while models with overlapping capacity are differentiated by format, monitoring, and battery approach. These recommendations reflect the listed specifications and intended use, not hands-on testing; verify outlet type, depth, and compatibility with your rack before buying.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Rackmount Backup Appliance
Choosing a rackmount UPS starts with the equipment and the rack, then moves to runtime, maintenance, and oversight. These broader checks can prevent a unit that looks suitable on paper from becoming a poor fit in day-to-day use.
Size the UPS around the real load
List the devices you intend to protect and check each device’s watt draw, including switches, storage, and any network equipment needed for a controlled shutdown. Compare the total with the UPS’s watt rating, since VA capacity alone does not tell you how much active load it can support. Leave room for startup surges and future additions rather than planning to run near the limit. A larger model may provide more headroom, but it also takes more space and can draw more power. If the goal is only to keep a modem and router alive, a 500VA unit may be easier to justify than a 1500VA model. For servers or several devices, prioritize a clear load calculation over a rough count of outlets.
Measure rack depth, height, and access
Confirm usable depth from the mounting rails to the rear clearance, including room for plugs, cables, and airflow. A short-depth UPS can solve a fit problem that a higher-capacity standard-depth unit cannot. Rack height matters too: 1U units preserve space for other equipment, while 2U options may be easier to accommodate when capacity is the priority. Check whether the listing includes the mounting hardware and rails your cabinet needs. Also plan how the UPS will be lifted and serviced; a heavy unit mounted low can be easier to manage than one positioned above other hardware. Measure the rack itself rather than relying only on a product’s rackmount label.
Choose battery chemistry with maintenance in mind
Lithium-ion models can appeal where long service life, compact packaging, or reduced battery replacement work matters, while conventional battery designs may fit buyers who prefer familiar replacement practices. Compare the manufacturer’s stated battery life and replacement options for the exact model. A UPS is a consumable protection device: batteries age even if outages are rare, so account for maintenance access and eventual replacement. For remote or lightly staffed sites, fewer service visits can matter more than saving a rack unit. Ask who will handle battery alerts and how quickly a replacement can be obtained. Battery chemistry alone does not tell you the unit’s runtime at your load.
Plan runtime and shutdown as separate jobs
Runtime depends on the load, battery condition, and UPS design, so do not infer it from the VA number alone. Decide whether the UPS only needs to bridge short interruptions or give a server time to shut down cleanly. For the latter, confirm that your equipment can communicate with the UPS and that shutdown software is compatible with the operating system and network setup. Test the shutdown sequence before relying on it during an outage. If you need extended runtime, compare supported external battery options or plan a separate power strategy. More capacity may help, but it is not a substitute for confirming runtime at the expected watt draw.
Match output and outlets to connected equipment
Check the outlet type and count against the actual plugs in your rack, including bulky adapters that can block neighboring sockets. Equipment with active power-factor-corrected supplies may benefit from a UPS with pure sine-wave output, so confirm the power-supply requirements rather than assuming every device behaves the same. Separate critical devices from equipment that can safely lose power, and reserve battery-backed outlets for the highest-priority load. A large outlet count does not mean the UPS can support every connected device at full draw. Keep network gear needed for remote management on protected power if remote visibility matters during an outage. These checks can prevent an adapter-heavy setup from consuming usable outlets or exceeding capacity.
Decide how much monitoring your site needs
An LCD can make local status checks straightforward, while network or cloud-connected features can help staff monitor equipment they cannot reach easily. Remote alerts only help if someone receives them and has a clear response plan. Check what connectivity is built in, what requires an accessory or account, and whether the monitoring method fits your security rules. A small office with an accessible rack may get enough value from a local display, while a remote closet may benefit more from alerts. Monitoring also needs a plan for battery replacement and shutdown events. Treat it as part of operations, not as a replacement for periodic checks.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I know whether a 500VA rackmount UPS is enough?
Add the watt draw of the specific devices you plan to protect and compare that total with the UPS’s watt rating, leaving capacity for surges and growth. A 500VA model in this lineup is generally better suited to a limited network or small equipment load than a rack of servers. Also decide how long the load must stay on; a capacity figure does not tell you runtime by itself. Check the exact model’s outlets and battery-backed output before connecting everything. If the load is close to its watt limit, step up to a higher-capacity unit.
Should I choose a 1U or 2U rackmount UPS?
Choose based on usable rack space, equipment depth, and the capacity your load requires. A 1U unit can preserve vertical space, and short-depth versions may fit shallow cabinets, but not every compact model provides the headroom of a larger unit. A 2U model can be a practical choice when more capacity matters more than saving a rack unit. Check rear clearance for power cords and ventilation, since nominal rack height says little about whether the unit fits comfortably. Measure before ordering and confirm mounting hardware requirements.
Is lithium-ion worth choosing for a rack UPS?
Lithium-ion can make sense when reduced battery maintenance, a compact design, or a longer service interval is valuable for your site. The APC and Eaton Tripp Lite lithium-ion options here also target compact 1U installations. Compare the manufacturer’s battery life guidance, replacement process, warranty, and support availability for the exact model. A conventional battery UPS may suit an organization with an established replacement routine or a preference for familiar service practices. Neither chemistry removes the need to monitor battery health and plan for eventual service.
Do I need pure sine-wave output for my server or network equipment?
Check the power-supply documentation for each device, especially if it uses active power factor correction or has strict input requirements. The CyberPower PFC models specify sine-wave output, which makes them relevant candidates for equipment that calls for it. Do not assume that a UPS’s capacity rating also describes its output waveform. When compatibility is unclear, confirm with the equipment manufacturer before connecting critical hardware. The outlet layout and total watt capacity still need to fit your load.
Can a rackmount UPS shut down a server automatically during an outage?
Many setups can trigger an automatic shutdown, but the UPS alone does not guarantee that workflow. Confirm that the selected model supports communication with your server, that any required management connection or software is available, and that your operating system is supported. Configure shutdown thresholds that leave enough battery for an orderly stop rather than waiting for near depletion. Test the process with noncritical workloads before relying on it. For multiple servers, check whether the shutdown software can coordinate them in the right order.
Conclusion
For most buyers balancing capacity and practical rack use, I recommend the APC Smart-UPS 1500VA/900W SMC1500-2UC as the best overall choice. The CyberPower CP1500PFCRM2U is a strong value-oriented alternative for buyers who want a 1500VA-class unit with sine-wave output, while the Eaton 5P 1550VA 1U is my premium fit when higher capacity and saved rack height are the priority. Beginners with a small, clearly measured load can start with a compact 500VA model such as the CyberPower OR500LCDRM1U and use its display for local status checks. For shallow racks or a preference for lithium-ion battery technology, compare the APC Smart-UPS 500VA Lithium-Ion 1U with the Eaton Tripp Lite BC500RT1ULNC; choose only after confirming depth, outlets, and monitoring needs. Match the final pick to your measured watt load, rack dimensions, and shutdown plan.
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.













